Web Design Syllabus, Fall 2003

Topic: Introductions & Beginnings
Date: Monday, 8 September 2003, & Wednesday, 10 September 2003
Software: TextPad, Mozilla
Book: Chuck Musciano & Bill Kennedy's HTML & XHMTL: The Definitive Guide, 4th Edition.
HTML: html, head, body, p, br, hr, character entities
In class:

Readings for next class (unless otherwise stated, you will NOT be quizzed over the contents of these readings):

Topic: Hand-coded HTML
Date: Monday, 15 September 2003, & Wednesday, 17 September 2003
Software: TextPad, Mozilla, Tidy
Book: Jennifer Niederst's Web Design in a Nutshell: A Desktop Quick Reference.
HTML: ul, ol, li, img, b, i, center, a
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Hand-coded HTML
Date: Monday, 22 September 2003, & Wednesday, 24 September 2003
Software: TextPad, Mozilla
Book: Louis Rosenfeld & Peter Morville's Information Architecture for the World Wide Web (2nd Edition), Jakob Nielsen's Designing Web Usability: The Practice of Simplicity, and Steve Krug & Roger Black's Don't Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability.
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Middleware ~ Dreamweaver
Date: Monday, 29 September 2003, & Wednesday, 1 October 2003
Software: TextPad, Mozilla
Book: Eric S. Raymond's The Cathedral and the Bazaar: Musings on Linux and Open Source by an Accidental Revolutionary and Chris Dibona & Mark Stone's (Eds.)Open Sources: Voices from the Open Source Revolution.
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Dreamweaver
Date: Monday, 6 October 2003, & Wednesday, 8 October 2003
Software: Dreamweaver
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: CSS (Cascading Style Sheets)
Date: Monday, 13 October 2003, & Wednesday, 15 October 2003
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Monday, 20 October 2003, & Wednesday, 22 October 2003 ~ No class

Topic: CSS
Date: Monday, 27 October 2003, & Wednesday, 29 October 2003
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

  • SimpleQuiz ~ Short quizzes on the best way to format HTML & CSS, followed by the best responses. It will make you think!

Topic: CSS
Date: Monday, 3 November 2003, & Wednesday, 5 November 2003
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Intro to CMS (Content Management Systems)
Date: Monday, 10 November 2003, & Wednesday, 12 November 2003
CSS mini-project due
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Topic: CMS macros
Date: Monday, 17 November 2003, & Wednesday, 19 November 2003
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: CMS templates
Date: Monday, 24 November 2003, & Wednesday, 26 November 2003
Software:
Book:
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: The Future … is here now: XHTML & XML
Date: Monday, 1 December 2003, & Wednesday, 3 December 2003
Software:
Book: Elliotte Rusty Harold's The XML Bible, 2nd Edition.
HTML:
In class:

WebSanity Top Secret