Web Design Syllabus, Spring 2004

Topic: Introductions & Beginnings; HTML
Dates: Mon., 23 February 2004
Software: Mozilla
HTML: html, head, body, p, br, hr
In class:

Readings for next class (unless otherwise stated, you will NOT be quizzed over the contents of these readings):

Topic: Hand-coded HTML
Dates: Mon., 1 March 2004
Software: Mozilla, TextPad
HTML: character entities, ul, ol, li, img, b, i, center, a
In class:

Readings for next class:

Note: No class Mon., 8 March 2004!

Topic: Hand-coded HTML
Dates: Mon, 15 March 2004
Software: Mozilla, Internet Explorer, TextPad
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topics: Middleware ~ WYSIWYG & Dreamweaver ~ tables
Dates: Mon., 22 March 2004
Software: Dreamweaver
HTML: table, tr, td
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Intro to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)
Dates: Mon., 29 March 2004
Software:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Note: No class Mon., 5 April 2004!

Topic: CSS
Dates: Mon., 12 April 2004
Software: TextPad
Book: Eric Meyer on CSS: Mastering the Language of Web Design
In class:

Readings for next class:

  • SimpleQuiz ~ Short quizzes on the best way to format HTML & CSS, followed by the best responses. It will make you think!
  • What Is Content Management? ~ An attempt to give a brief overview, and focused on the CMS we'll be using.

Topic: Intro to Content Management Systems (CMS) ~ CMS macros
Dates: Mon., 19 April 2004
Software: TextPad
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: CMS templates
Dates: Mon., 26 April 2004
Software: TextPad
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: XHTML & XML ~ Goodbye
Dates: Mon., 3 May 2004
Software:
In class:

WebSanity Top Secret