Web Design Syllabus, Fall 2002

Topic: Introductions & Beginnings
Dates: Tuesday, 10 September 2002, & Friday, 13 September 2002
Software: Mozilla
HTML: html, head, body, p, br, hr
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Hand-coded HTML
Dates: Tuesday, 17 September 2002, & Friday, 20 September 2002
Software: Mozilla, TextPad
HTML: character entities, ul, ol, li, img, b, i, center, a
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: In-class practice with HTML
Dates: Tuesday, 24 September 2002, & Friday, 27 September 2002
Software: Mozilla, Internet Explorer, TextPad
HTML:
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topics: Middleware ~ Intro to WYSIWYG & Dreamweaver
Dates: Tuesday, 1 October 2002, & Friday, 4 October 2002
Software: Dreamweaver
HTML: table, tr, td
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Dreamweaver & tables
Dates: Tuesday, 8 October 2002, & Friday, 11 October 2002
Software: Dreamweaver
HTML: table, tr, td
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Site management with Dreamweaver; Intro to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)
Dates: Tuesday, 15 October 2002, & Friday, 18 October 2002
Software: Dreamweaver
In class:

Readings for next class:

Note that we switch from Tuesday/Friday to Friday/Tuesday!

Topic: CSS
Dates: Friday, 25 October 2002 & Tuesday, 29 October 2002
Software: TextPad
In class:

Topic: In-class practice with CSS
Dates: Friday, 1 November 2002 & Tuesday, 5 November 2002
Software: TextPad
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: Intro to Cotent Management Systems (CMS)
Dates: Friday, 8 November 2002 & Tuesday, 12 November 2002
Software:
In class:

Topic: CMS macros
Dates: Friday, 15 November 2002 & Tuesday, 19 November 2002
Software:
In class:

Topic: CMS templates
Dates: Friday, 22 November 2002 & Tuesday, 26 November 2002
Software:
In class:

Note that we switch back from Friday/Tuesday to Tuesday/Friday!

Topic: In-class practice with CMS
Dates: Tuesday, 3 December 2002, & Friday, 6 December 2002
Software: TextPad
In class:

Readings for next class:

Topic: XHTML & XML; Goodbye
Dates: Tuesday, 10 December 2002, & Friday, 13 December 2002
Software:
In class: